Food recall

Botanas Michoacanas recall: Churritos Corn Flour sticks, shelf stable

Botanas Michoacanas, of Portland, OR, recalled Churritos Corn Flour sticks, shelf stable. The FDA's reason: “The product labels include a Contains statement that did not disclose sesame for the product that contains sesame. Sesame is included Ingredient statement.” The FDA classified it Class II: it could cause temporary or minor harm. The company began the recall voluntarily on June 8, 2023, and the FDA first listed it in its Enforcement Report of July 26, 2023. The FDA has closed the recall: it found the company did all it reasonably could to remove or correct the product.

How serious

Class II

It could cause temporary or minor harm

Why

Allergen not on the label

Status

Terminated

Closed November 14, 2024

The recall

Company
Botanas Michoacanas (Portland, OR)
Reason, in FDA's words
“The product labels include a Contains statement that did not disclose sesame for the product that contains sesame. Sesame is included Ingredient statement.”
Where it was sold
Product was distributed in OR and CA.
Recall began
, by the company
FDA classified it
First in an FDA Enforcement Report
FDA event number
92517

The product recalled

As the FDA describes them, with the codes that tell whether a package is part of the recall.

  • F-1250-2023 Class II

    Churritos Corn Flour sticks, shelf stable, 6 months shelf life, packed in a rectangular shape clear polypropylene bag with net wt.11 oz (311.845g.), UPC# 6-0972233599-7. Product labeled in part, "***BOTANAS MICHOACANS CHURRITOS CORN FLOUR STICKS***Best By:***Ingredients: Corn Flour, wheat flour (niacin, reduced iron, thiamine monoltrate, riboflavin, folic acid) water, salt, sesame seen, corn oil, canola oil. Contains WHEAT. BOTANAS MICHOACANAS PORTLAND, OR 97206***NET WT. 11oz (311.845g)***6-0972233599-7***".

    Codes: Affected product has BEST BY of 6/01/23 to 12/06/23.

    Quantity: 40 -20 piece cases

Get new charts weekly

One email a week with the newest charts and their key numbers. No account needed.

Source and notes

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Enforcement Reports (openFDA food recall data) (Public domain (U.S. government work); source U.S. Food and Drug Administration, openFDA), data as of July 26, 2023.

Each week the FDA lists the recalls it has classified in its Enforcement Report, often weeks after the company announced the recall, so a month with five weekly reports tends to count more. Each recall counts once, however many products it covers, in the month FDA first listed it. Class I means the food could cause serious harm or death, Class II temporary or minor harm, and Class III is unlikely to harm anyone. Meat, poultry and most egg products are recalled by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, not the FDA, and aren't included. For what to do with a recalled product, see the FDA's recalls page.