Food recall

Silva International Inc. recall: Dehydrated chipotle powder from Silva International packaged in a 50 lb

Silva International Inc., of Momence, IL, recalled Dehydrated chipotle powder from Silva International packaged in a 50 lb and 1 other product. The FDA's reason: “Samples of dehydrated chipotle powder came back positive for gluten, possibly from wheat. Potential presence of wheat was not disclosed on label.” The FDA classified it Class II: it could cause temporary or minor harm. The company began the recall voluntarily on May 19, 2016, and the FDA first listed it in its Enforcement Report of July 20, 2016. The FDA has closed the recall: it found the company did all it reasonably could to remove or correct the product.

How serious

Class II

It could cause temporary or minor harm

Why

Labeling, packaging or manufacturing problems

Status

Terminated

Closed March 6, 2018

The recall

Company
Silva International Inc. (Momence, IL)
Reason, in FDA's words
“Samples of dehydrated chipotle powder came back positive for gluten, possibly from wheat. Potential presence of wheat was not disclosed on label.”
Where it was sold
Product was shipped to locations in TX, OH, IL, CT, AL, FL, WI, CO and New Zealand
Recall began
, by the company
FDA classified it
First in an FDA Enforcement Report
FDA event number
74232

The 2 products recalled

As the FDA describes them, with the codes that tell whether a package is part of the recall.

  • F-1590-2016 Class II

    Dehydrated chipotle powder from Silva International packaged in a 50 lb. poly-lined cardboard box.

    Codes: 120815369-50, 020516690-50

    Quantity: 2,908 lbs lbs.

  • F-1667-2016 Class II

    Zesty Nacho Spice Blend (containing dehydrated chipotle powder) from Silva International packaged in a 50 lb. poly-lined cardboard box.

    Codes: 042916CL01-50

    Quantity: 10,000 lbs

Get new charts weekly

One email a week with the newest charts and their key numbers. No account needed.

Source and notes

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Enforcement Reports (openFDA food recall data) (Public domain (U.S. government work); source U.S. Food and Drug Administration, openFDA), data as of July 20, 2016.

Each week the FDA lists the recalls it has classified in its Enforcement Report, often weeks after the company announced the recall, so a month with five weekly reports tends to count more. Each recall counts once, however many products it covers, in the month FDA first listed it. Class I means the food could cause serious harm or death, Class II temporary or minor harm, and Class III is unlikely to harm anyone. Meat, poultry and most egg products are recalled by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, not the FDA, and aren't included. For what to do with a recalled product, see the FDA's recalls page.